Winners for 2011 ME Architect Awards announced

CM6330322@architect awards

The winners of the 2011 Middle East Architect Awards were revealed during a gala awards ceremony at Jumeirah Zabeel Saray in Dubai on Wednesday night.

Architecture giant Skidmore Owings & Merrill (SOM) picked up two of the night’s top honours. The firm’s Rolex Tower in Dubai won Best Overall Project while consulting partner George Efstathiou won Architect of the Year.

The 235m Rolex Tower was praised by the jury as “an elegant addition to the Dubai skyline in a field of flamboyance”.


SOM repeated the success of last year, when it picked up the same award for Burj Khalifa.

Architect of the Year Efstathiou, who worked on Rolex Tower and Burj Khalifa, was lauded by the judges for his “prolific experience which represents a deep and thorough knowledge of the profession”.

Young Architect of the Year was scooped by Atkin’s Obada Adra who was said to be a great asset to his company with a portfolio that belies his age.

This year’s Large Architecture Firm award went to Woods Bagot while Boutique Firm of the Year was picked up by FXFOWLE.

Aside from Rolex Tower, the standout project of the night was Aino Mina in Afghanistan by Aedas, which was praised as “an indigenous and contemporary project which is set to make a positive impact on the lives of so many”.

Other firms that enjoyed a successful night included engineering titan Buro Happold and Henning Larsen Architects, which both won two awards apiece.

Benoy’s Ferrari World Abu Dhabi picked up the award for Hospitality & Leisure Project, while narrowly missing out on the top project prize which was claimed by Rolex Tower.

View pictures of all the winners here.

Winners of the 2011 Middle East Architect Awards

Architect of the Year George Efstathiou – SOM

Boutique Architecture Firm of the Year FXFOWLE

Commercial Project of the Year King Abdullah Financial District, Saudi Arabia – Henning Larsen Architects

Engineer of the Year Andrea Scotti – Buro Happold

Engineering Company of the Year Buro Happold

Hospitality & Leisure Project of the Year Ferrari World Abu Dhabi – Benoy

Large Architecture Firm of the Year Woods Bagot

Middle East Building Information Modelling Award Sawari Residential and Hotel Towers, Khobar, Saudi Arabia – NAGA Architects

Overall Project of the Year Rolex Tower, Dubai – SOM

Principal of the Year Brian Johnson – GAJ

Public Sector, Institutional & Cultural Project of the Year Institute of Diplomatic Studies, Saudi Arabia – Henning Larsen Architects

Residential Project of the Year Aino Mina, Afghanistan – Aedas Sustainable Design of the Year Aino Mina, Afghanistan – Aedas

Young Architect of the Year Obada Adra – Atkins

This entry was posted in Design, Portfolio, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Add a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *