Shortlist announced for ME Architect Awards

The shortlist for the fourth annual Middle East Architect Awards, recognising the best projects and individuals throughout the MENA region, has been revealed.

A team of seven judges, comprising local architects and engineers, was tasked with whittling down the 120 entries to a shortlist of 65.

The winners will be lauded at a glamorous awards ceremony at Jumeirah Zabeel Saray on Wednesday 14th September 2011.


To purchase tables and tickets, please contact Annie Chinoy on For sponsorship opportunities, please contact Luke Jones on

Architect of the Year Alaa Mandour, KMA George Efstathiou, SOM Keith Gavin, GAJ Raya Ani, dwp Sandra Woodall, Tangram Architects & Designers

Boutique Architecture Firm of the Year Archidentity Drawlink Group FXFOWLE

Commercial Project of the Year Al Manara Project, Dubai – TNQ Architects & Engineers KAFD, Saudi Arabia – Henning Larsen Architects Muqarnas Tower, Saudi Arabia – SOM Sowwah Square, Abu Dhabi  – Goettsch Partners TRA Headquarters, Dubai  – HDR

Engineer of the Year Andrea Scotti, Buro Happold David Murray, WSP Middle East Khaled Zaghloul, RW Armstrong

Engineering Company  of the Year Atkins Buro Happold Hyder Consulting Ramboll WSP Middle East

Hospitality & Leisure Project of the Year Abu Dhabi Equestrian Club – RW Armstrong Burj Rafal Kempinski, Saudi Arabia – P&T Architects Ferrari World Abu Dhabi – Benoy One & Only The Palm, Dubai – DSA Tozeur Resort, Tunisia – GAJ

Large Architecture Firm of the Year Atkins GAJ NORR Group RW Armstrong Woods Bagot

Middle East Building Information Modelling Award Dubarch EAS GAJ NAGA

Overall Project of the Year (completed projects) Al Manara Project – TNQ Architects & Engineers Al Shaqab, Qatar – Leigh & Orange Qatar Ferrari World Abu Dhabi – Benoy Masdar Institute of Science & Technology, Abu Dhabi – RW Armstrong Rolex Tower, Dubai – SOM

Principal of the Year Brian Johnson, GAJ Hamdi Mahmoud, Tangram Architects & Designers Mona Salem, RW Armstrong Public Sector & Institutional Project of the Year Celebration Hall, Saudi Arabia – GAJ Institute of Diplomatic Studies, Saudi Arabia – Henning Larsen Architects Museum of the Built Environment, Saudi Arabia – FXFOWLE Architects King Abdullah World Charity Foundation, Saudi Arabia – Saudi Diyar Consultants Revitalisation of Old Souq, Dubai – Dubai Municipality

Residential Project of the Year Aino Mina, Afghanistan – Aedas Meysan Residences, Abu Dhabi – dwp Saraya Bandar Jissah, Oman – GAJ Staff housing, Dubai – DXB Lab Architecture Vertical Medina, Saudi Arabia – SOM

Sustainable Design of the Year Aino Mina, Afghanistan – Aedas DuBiotech Research Lab, Dubai – HDR Renaissance Tower, Turkey – FXFOWLE Mirdif City Centre, Dubai – Hyder Consulting Masdar Institute of Science & Technology, Abu Dhabi – RW Armstrong

Young Architect of the Year Fariborz Hatam, Aedas Florian Oett, dwp Justin Beckermann, The Buchan Group Obada Adra, Atkins Robert El Habre, NORR Group

This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Add a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *